Support

What happens when I delete a message or conversation?

We currently support 2 deletion modes: Local and All Participants:

Example usage of deleting a conversation on iOS using local deletion:

[conversation delete:LYRDeletionMode.LYRDeletionModeLocal error:nil];

Example usage of deleting a message on Android using All Participants deletion:

message.delete(LayerClient.DeletionMode.ALL_PARTICIPANTS);

Data retention:

When a conversation is deleted Layer will mark them as deleted, and it will be removed from all relevant devices. However, the actual conversation/message still remains on our server until expunged as determined by the data retention policy of the account and in accordance with Layer’s privacy policy.

Have more questions? Submit a request