Support

When should I de-authenticate a user?

De-authenticate a user if you are logging them out of your app, or do not expect them to continue to use Layer for some considerable time.

A user who is de-authenticated and re-authenticated later will suffer a small performance penalty because their client state will need to be reloaded from scratch and synchronized with Layer’s servers.

De-authenticated users will also not receive notifications of messages sent to them while they are de-authenticated.

Have more questions? Submit a request